18 Reasons Ursinus is an Excellent College

When I was applying for Ursinus College, I wanted to know what the students at Ursinus thought, not just what they were “told” to think. I searched through Ursinus student blogs, but the only students from Ursinus College that seemed to be blogging weren’t blogging about what I needed to know – specifically Ursinus College.

I wanted to fix that.

I’ve had a lot of future students sending me emails asking if they should go to Ursinus. I can’t make that decision… but I started listing what I liked for what I liked it one email – and somehow it became its own blog post. Huh.

For my complete “Should YOU go to Ursinus College” post, click the link.

In any case, without further ado, I present you: 18 Reasons Ursinus is an Excellent College

IMG_2866-001 1. My financial aid covers study abroad. In fact, this was the deciding factor that made me choose Ursinus.

When people ask why I decided on Ursinus, I usually just jokingly say because Ursinus gave me a full ride. But it’s a lot more than that. Ursinus College financial aid is unique in the fact that it covers study abroad. There was no question as to whether or not I was going to study abroad for a year in Japan, but any other school I applied to told me if I chose to study abroad, I would have to pay out of pocket.

Regardless of if you receive financial aid or not from Ursinus, I think it is incredibly mature and well-thought out to allow financial aid to cover study abroad. I have a lot of friends who were able to study abroad precisely BECAUSE financial aid covered study abroad.

And other friends at other schools who planned to study abroad freshman year, but when junior year rolled around, they opted out for financial reasons.

And that’s why I went to Ursinus College. Ursinus has a lot of great points that made me consider going there (they are in “Colleges that Change Lives” handbook and have great study abroad options) but the flexibility of their study abroad program was definitely the deciding factor.

As luck would have it, I did get to do a year in Japan

As luck would have it, I did get to do a year in Japan

2. Ursinus College has great financial aid. According to the website, 83% of the students who attend Ursinus College have some sort of financial aid. I believe it. Once I have a stable job, I plan on taking a small percentage of my yearly income and giving it back to Ursinus – as a sort of “Thank you” for what they gave me, as well as hoping they put that money towards some other student’s scholarship.

3. Ursinus College is in the Colleges that Change Lives Handbook. If you don’t know about that book, look it up. It’s wonderful. I’m from Texas, without that book I might not have ever heard of Ursinus (it’s not exactly a large school and it’s all the way in Pennsylvania).

4. Ursinus is a downright tiny school. As a result, you get a lot more “personalized” college experience. All of my teachers know my name. I have, in fact, on several occasions, eaten dinner at a professor’s house. That actually happens here. Just so you know. There are only around 1,650 students, so classes are small. I know most people who are going for the same major as I am. Clubs are like mini-families. Sports teams are a great bonding experience. You can tell who the freshmen are because all of a sudden it’s a new face.

5. Rev Rice, Mizenko-sensei, Joe Melrose, Becky Evans, and Jon Volkmer. All are excellent teachers and excellent friends. IMG_1311   6. Ursinus College has themed “Special Interest Houses (SPINT);” I lived in Musser (the International dorm). SPINT Houses are small dorms (really, just large renovated houses) that house anywhere between 20 – 60 sophomores, juniors, and seniors who have similar interests [Freshmen are required to live in freshmen housing]. It’s basically like living with a lot of people who have the same interests.

This year they have the Music House, Modern Science and Technology House, Queer House, Wellness House, Africana Studies and American History House, International House (Musser, my dorm), Community Service House, Honors House, and Hillel House. You apply separately for each house, are interviewed, and selected by each houses coordinator(s), who are usually juniors or seniors.

7. I met my fiancé at Ursinus College; he was a one-year exchange student from Japan. I love him. We’re happy and getting married in about 10 months. For that reason alone, I’m glad I went to Ursinus. IMG_0900-001   But… now that I think about it, there are a disproportionately large number of couples at Ursinus.

8. Ursinus college is international, they hire one-year teaching assistants (TAs) from foreign countries and have anywhere between 3-5 exchange students from Akita International University, in Akita, Japan. My freshman and sophomore year, we had TAs from Spain, Germany, France, China, Japan, and an Arab country (it changes every year).

Because of budget cuts, now we only have a Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and Japanese TA (I think).

9. Ursinus has a LOVE Statue, just like Philadelphia. It’s a standard freshman portrait – getting your picture taken next to the statue.

IMG_5863

10. CIE. CIE stands for Common Intellectual Experience. CIE is a two-term class that all freshmen have to take as a sort of “bonding” experience. In CIE, you and about 20 other freshmen read some of the “key” literature pieces throughout history, then discuss them in-depth. If you don’t talk, you don’t get a good grade. The thought of failing pushes most people to abandon their reserve (so it doesn’t sound awkwardly silent with “that guy” just talking, like a high school English class; everyone participates).

The downside is that you have to listen to everyone else’s opinions – which you won’t necessarily agree with. I’m not going to lie; some people have really obnoxious opinions.

11. Ursinus College has an assortment of fantastic Study Abroad Programs. They really do. You can kind of go anywhere you want and Ursinus will pay for you. And, if you don’t find a program you like, you can always create your own.

(PS, I’m sorry that most of my reasons are International. I’m an international person, so that’s where my priorities sit.)

IMG_6410

12. Major and Minor requirements are very straight-forward and rarely change. Nothing is more frustrating than sitting through a class you hate just to fulfill a major requirement, only to have it change the next year…

13. Ursinus College put me on their website when I got the Boren Scholarship to study in Japan. I was really happy about that. Urinus is proud of their students and often brags about their accomplishments.

14. I don’t hate the cafeteria, even after two years. It’s really surprising. Ursinus has two cafeterias; one is an all-you-can-eat buffet with both a changing menu and some solid staples that never change, like a salad, sandwich, pasta, French fry, hamburger, and pasta bar.

15. Ursinus College has the most beautiful campus I have ever seen, hands down. Gorgeous statues are strategically placed around campus. But there are also some pretty weird ones statues.

IMG_3109

16. A building, Olin, stays open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can always find a place to study, regardless of the hour.

17. Clubs are really fun; Student Government gets things done. I was the President of Japan club last year and the secretary of SASA (Southeast Asian Student Association). We put on some great events, including an Asian-styled talent show, Tour of Asia, at the end of the year.

18. Most of the students I’ve met are mature, hard-working, ambitious people that are not afraid to take the initiative or study abroad. I really like (most) of the people at Ursinus. I met my best friend (roommate) and best friend (fiancé), as well as a lot of other wonderful people.

My roommate and I at the "Tour of Asia" event

My roommate and I at the “Tour of Asia” event

Add me on Google Plus: +Grace Buchele

3 responses to “18 Reasons Ursinus is an Excellent College

  1. Pingback: 7 Unconventional lessons I learned from Study Abroad | Texan in Tokyo·

  2. Pingback: Should YOU go to Ursinus College? | Texan in Tokyo·

  3. Along with #15, one thing that I remember about Ursinus when we did our whirlwind college tour (and as a result, some schools kind of ran together) was not only the statues but the art. There is beautiful, interesting art all over campus. I loved that!

Leave a Reply

