Top 15 Costumes from the 2013 Harajuku St. Patrick’s Day Parade (in Tokyo, Japan)

The largest St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Asia, the St. Patrick’s Day Parade, Tokyo 2013, Sub Theme: Kizuna, took place on Sunday. With a forecast of 1,500 performers and 50,000 viewers, it was the first St. Patrick’s Day Parade in the Northern Hemisphere. People in Tokyo can pull of costumes really well. I don’t know what else to say.

It took place in Omotesando, Harajuku, the parade marched up and down the street alongside the highest concentration of foreigners I’ve ever seen in Tokyo. There were people decked out in green left and right, even kids, dogs, and adults with face-paint.

For those of you who couldn’t be there, I just wanted to share some of the best costumes from the St. Patrick’s Day parade in Harajuku, Tokyo.

1. These guys were adorable. And a little bit creepy. But mostly adorable.

IMG_8999

2. The only thing I wasn’t expecting to see at the 2013 St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Harajuku was samurai warriors  I wasn’t even sure if they were samurai. However, they had swords… so…

IMG_9027

3. St. Patrick, himself. I feel like he should possibly be higher on the list (you know, since the whole St. Patrick’s Parade in Tokyo was named after him and all), but the others were just too cute. So at number 3 he will stay. I know some people have a problem with the way I rank costumes (Oops), so if you leave a convincing comment, I might change it. IMG_89634. There is a dog. Wearing a kimono. A green kimono. I couldn’t believe it.

IMG_8974

5. I have a soft spot for babies. Sorry. IMG_9024

6. I’m about 90% sure the person in a wig is a man. All my friends agree. If so he (or she) had amazing spirit. IMG_9010

7. They get extra points for decorating their instruments. And they played very well.

IMG_9020

8. More dog pictures. This one had arms, so it looked like a cute little dog-person. I loved all the Irish Settler Club costumes in the St. Patrick’s Parade in Tokyo.

IMG_8976

9. The Guinness beer float in itself isn’t unusual, I just thought it was cute there was a person actually inside of a Guinness beer costume during the 2013 St. Patrick’s Parade in Harajuku. IMG_8990

10. The police mascot for Tokyo. They get extra points because 1. this is supposed to be a post about costumes in the 2013 St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Tokyo, Japan and 2. My fiance’s father is a police officer (every time I visit, I end up leaving with more goodies with the police mascot on them, like stationary, towels, and comics). IMG_8982

11.  This guy actually thought I was Irish (since I recently dyed my hair reddish) – at least until I opened my mouth. Then he was like “Oh, you’re American…” He took a picture of me anyway, so I returned the favor. I always have fun on the sidelines. IMG_9025

12. Trust me. I have so many dog Irish costumes that I’m not even putting up. IMG_8979

13. If this is what getting old looks like, I can’t wait. IMG_8986

14. Just a classic Irish guy in the 2013 St. Patrick’s Day parade in Japan…
IMG_8993
15. I liked these girls. IMG_9003

Well, that’s all I have for now. However, this is just the 15 Best Costumes from the 2013 St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Harajuku (Tokyo), Japan. As soon as I can, I’m going to write a post about the best performances.

That is an entirely different list.

Add me on Google Plus: +Grace Buchele

4 responses to “Top 15 Costumes from the 2013 Harajuku St. Patrick’s Day Parade (in Tokyo, Japan)

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon 2013: From the Sidelines | Texan in Tokyo·

  2. Pingback: The 40 Best Costumes from Tokyo Marathon 2013 | Texan in Tokyo·

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Marathon 2013: Best and Worst Costumes | Texan in Tokyo·

  4. Pingback: Tokyo St. Patrick’s Day Parade’s 16 most Fascinating Floats/Performances | Texan in Tokyo·

Leave a Reply

