Those Little, Funny Moments in Life

People always ask me why I take so many pictures. I like to give a sort of cliché answer like “oh, I have a bad memory” or “because I want to remember this moment forever.” In reality, neither of those are the reason I take pictures.

I take pictures because months (or years) later, when I look back through my life, I see things like this. Proof I was happy. Proof life is funny.

CIMG5196-001

I don’t even remember what he said to make me laugh so much, even though it’s only been six months. I remember I had woken up early to do my own hair and makeup before the Sejinshiki (Japanese coming of Age ceremony) photos. I remember being pushed, prodded, and shoved into my future cousin’s $3,000 kimono. I remember standing in shoes four sizes too small, smiling for pictures.

I remember the bad times more than I remember the good times.

I don’t remember Ryosuke’s face when he first saw me in the kimono. I don’t remember how it felt to be the only foreigner in the ceremony. And worst of all, I don’t remember what he said to make me laugh. Or what it felt like when he held my hand.

But looking back at these pictures, I get this wonderful memory. It’s not complete, but it’s better than nothing.

And I know, no matter how tough life gets, no matter how stressed, tired, or fed up with Japanese life I may get, I can always look back on this picture and smile. This candid picture my future father in law snapped, while I was off laughing to something my fiancé said, is one of the precious moments of life. It’s not scripted, it’s not staged; it’s fun. It’s funny.

Life is fun. Life is funny. It seems without pictures, we would all forget just how funny life really is.

Written for Daily Prompt: Ha Ha Ha 

Add me on Google Plus: +Grace Buchele

2 responses to “Those Little, Funny Moments in Life

  1. Pingback: A “cut” coffee | Vivir, que no es poco·

  2. Pingback: Those Little, Funny Moments in Life | West Coast Review·

Leave a Reply

