Just say what you mean! Failed Interviews from a Job Hunting Gaijin at the Tokyo Career Forum

During the Tokyo Career Forum, I interviewed for three different Japanese companies. Held on June 29th and 30th, the Tokyo Career Forum caters to companies that wish to hire bilingual (Japanese and English) employees. With over 200 companies in an assortment of fields, it is a great opportunity to get some key job hunting in.

If you’re lucky, the website claimed, you can walk away with a job!

Tokyo Career Forum

I didn’t (spoiler alert). But I’m ok with that.

On the first day, I interviewed for three companies at the Tokyo Career Forum. The first interview was a short five-minute interview after a job lecture presentation for a travel company. I handed them my resume, they asked a couple questions, and said they would email me to schedule a later, official interview. Those kinds of short interviews are rare.

The other two interviews were more typical. And I failed both of them. Massively.

The first company was for a technical consulting company that worked with other businesses. I didn’t know much about the company… but while I was walking by the booth, one of the attendants slipped in front of me. “Hi! Would you like to interview with us?” She was blocking my path.

I gave the company booth and quick look. It was a mixture of English and Japanese. That’s a good sign… Stopping was a mistake. She took my pause as a “yes, I would love to interview” and pushed their clipboard under my nose, asking me to schedule an interview for that afternoon.

“Excuse me, I don’t know what kind of company this is…” I started, trying to worm my way out of writing my contact information on the interview sheet.

“It’s ok. It is a business consulting company. You will find out more during the job lecture.” What? But what if I don’t like the company? 

I pointed to their ‘Business English and Business Japanese’ language requirement sign.

I started feeling uncomfortable. “Excuse me… you see, I don’t speak business level Japanese. I only have ‘limited working proficiency’ Japanese.” I pointed to my resume. “So… you know, I probably shouldn’t interview…”

For some reason, she didn’t care. She pushed the clipboard closer, actually dropping it in my hands.

At the Tokyo Career Forum, you are supposed to list your English and Japanese language ability. There are four categories: conversational, limited working proficiency, business level, or native. I am a native English speaker with a limited working proficiency in Japanese. I wanted to make sure I didn’t over-reach when interviewing.

Job Hunting white foreigner Japan Tokyo

The woman laughed and shot back, “Oh that? We don’t really care how well you speak Japanese. You will be fine. Your Japanese sounds excellent!”

“Seriously, I really don’t think I should-“

“It’s fine, it’s fine, just sign up. I need to give the clipboard to the other woman. Please hurry.”

I felt madly uncomfortable, but I figured a free interview couldn’t hurt. It was 10:45am; I schedule a 11:20am interview. I wrote my name, phone number, and email address. They asked for two copies of my resume, and were a bit disappointed I did not have my picture attached to the front of the resume.

“Sorry,” I shrugged. I hadn’t had enough time to go get professional pictures done. Japanese resumes are required to have your picture on the front. Most schools will help you get these photos done – they are a picture of you in your business suit. A lot of companies don’t want to hire fat or unattractive employees, so they like to have your picture on the front (which, to be honest, offends me quite a bit).

She just smiled. “Alright, before your interview, please watch this presentation about our company.”

She ushered me into one of the seven plastic chairs in their booth, just as the presentation started. It was all in Japanese, but I could follow easily. Only four of the chairs were filled: three foreigners, one Japanese man, and me. While I was sitting, I saw the same lady track down each foreigner who passed, signing them up for an interview. That’s weird…

Japanese job hunting Tokyo Career Forum 2013 suits

At exactly 11:18, I returned to the booth.

They had pulled the orange plastic chairs out, and replaced them with three small cubicle booths. The two other interviews had already begun both of them with the same foreigners I sat behind in the earlier lecture; I bowed, apologized, and sat down. However, before the interview started, I mentioned their Japanese requirement.

“I speak limited working proficiency level Japanese, NOT Business Japanese. Are you sure I should interview? I don’t want to waste anyone’s time…

She assured me it would be fine. The Japanese level ability didn’t matter.

The woman across from me was wearing a white blouse with a large silver, somewhat gaudy necklace. Her hair was pulled back into a tight bun and she was wearing limited makeup. She smiled politely, then launched straight into the questions.

“Can you please give me a five minute introduction?” She asked, staring intently at my resume.

I started along confidentially. I had given this same introduction a million times in Japanese class. While I was speaking, she jotted down notes. She seemed satisfied with my answer.

“Thank you, now can you tell me your best feature?”

Best Feature? I paused. I kind of wished I had read more books on job hunting. What was I supposed to say? “Well, I like working in groups and interacting with coworkers…” I started.

She interrupted, “No, I mean your best feature. Like your charm point.”

“My charm point?” What kind of question is that? “My charm point is that I am very energetic and passionate. Is that what you’re talking about?”

“Not really, I mean like your best feature…”

“I have pretty eyes?”

She laughed and moved onto the next question.

Wait, was that the right answer? I’m so confused!

“What is your biggest weakness?”

I gave the typical, ‘I work too hard and care too much’ speech. I stumbled over a couple of the words because I had never given this kind of speech in Japanese before.  Every time I made a mistake, she would frown a bit, but keep writing.

“What was your biggest challenge in your life?”

I told her about the time, when I was 14 and we lived in Ghana (West Africa), I wanted to go to boarding school in Japan because Ghana was too hot, too humid, too dangerous, and I kept getting malaria. I ended up filling out most of the applications and only really telling my parents when I got accepted into the boarding school.

She whistled. “Wow, that’s impressive. But I was hoping you would give me something a little more recent…”

Crap. Messed up again. “Well, I had a lot of difficulties renting an apartment when I was in Japan, since I’m a foreigner.”

After that, she sort of lightened up a bit. We also switched to English. That’s how I knew I wasn’t going to get a job. We spent the next ten minutes cracking jokes. She told me about her job (what she liked and didn’t like); I told her about my blog. She asked me to write the website onto the back of one of her business cards.

The site that greeted me when I got the Tokyo Career Forum, 40 minutes before it opened

The site that greeted me when I got the Tokyo Career Forum, 40 minutes before it opened

The interviews on either side of us remained somber and official, while we were chatting.

When the bell rang, she thanked me for coming by, and told me they would email me later to schedule the next interview – if I passed.

“Are you actually going to email me?” I asked, because I kind of already knew the answer.

“Maybe.” She replied, diplomatically.

“My Japanese is too poor for this position, isn’t it?”

She paused, looking around to see if anyone was listening, before replying “Maybe next year…” Then she put her mask right back on, with that saccharine smile, and shook my hand.

Japanese job hunting Tokyo Career Forum 2013 suits

I left.

On one hand, I appreciated her honesty. I feel like “Maybe next year…” is the closest thing anyone at this Tokyo Career Forum might get to a “no.”

But at the same time, I was frustrated about the waste of time. I knew my Japanese wasn’t business level. I told the women who tried to make me sign up; I told my interviewer. Both of them told me “Japanese language ability doesn’t really matter.”

But obviously it does.

I wish companies would be more upfront about it. My second interview with an electric appliance company went about the same.

That was the most frustrating thing at the Tokyo Career Forum – the lack of qualifications for an initial interview. Anyone can interview. Anyone at all. While I can understand the merit of such a system (Hey, let’s not count someone out just because they have a plain resume), I think it is an incredible waste of time for people who obviously don’t qualify for the position. Furthermore, the people who actually want to work for the company have to wade through and compete with a bunch of other people that just got “pulled in” from the streets of Tokyo Career Forum. That day, I ended up wasting nearly an hour and a half with interviews that I, quite honestly, never had a chance of passing in the first place.

That’s frustrating. I would rather be told an outright “no,” than an implied “no” hidden behind a “maybe” after thirty minutes of interviewing.

These are the times I miss America the most. I miss the days where a company will look at my resume and only call me if they think I’m qualified.

I want companies to say what they mean. But I’m in Japan…

Add me on Google Plus: +Grace Buchele

13 responses to “Just say what you mean! Failed Interviews from a Job Hunting Gaijin at the Tokyo Career Forum

  1. I’m not in Japan but I just graduated myself, no confidence at all. Reading your story just gave me a little light because fulltime job hunting is awfully scary!! Hahaha…

  2. Pingback: Foreigner Job Hunting Problems in Japan: Lessons I learned from the Tokyo Career Forum | Texan in Tokyo·

  3. Grace, I sympathize very much with your job-hunting sufferings, but I think you haven’t considered that this method could actually be a little more democratic than even in the US. There’s a bunch of companies that only recruit in 2-3 select universities (guess which), and never give a chance to anyone else to apply. Or you go through 3 rounds of interviews and then never even get an official rejection. I feel that by not focusing on the applicant’s Japanese level, maybe those companies are trying to give someone the opportunity to shine through. I know it sucks they wasted your time, but for some other gaijin it might have been a blessing.

    • Hey Tania,

      I actually kind of get what you’re saying. I think I reached that realization about half-way through writing this post.
      I understand how the Japanese system is actually much more “fair” for students to apply (or at least that’s what Ryosuke thinks) – I think I mostly had problems with the lack of posted qualifications. I think all that freedom to choose (nearly every company I stopped by invited me to interview) kind of turned me off the whole job hunting process, since I had no idea what I wanted, and got more and more frustrated when I couldn’t figure out what the other company wanted.
      Or I was just frustrated it was in Japanese.

      I did have a couple friends who got jobs (great for them!), so I guess this system works pretty well.
      Maybe regardless of the country, you are supposed to hate job hunting…

  4. I can see your frustration. People here in America wish that they’d at least been given a chance so sometimes it just is what it is. Very frustrating though that they told you a blatant lie and practically forced you into the interview to begin with. But like Suzanne said — at least you learned something.

    • I think so too. I have been frustrated by job hunting (especially for summer jobs) in America where I drop off my resume – and even call in later to check they got it – without hearing anything back.
      I like the fact they will let most people interview; I dislike the fact they don’t clearly post their specific requirements (GPA, major, length of employment, language ability, job experience) before asking for an interview.

      But at least I learned something! All in all, it was a great experience!

  5. But if you really think about it, the experience you got interviewing will stick with you forever. You learned quite a lot. So in some ways it was worth it – next time you think about doing such a thing, you’ll know a lot more about how the process will work, what questions might be asked, and such.

    • That is true. I learned a lot – it truly was a great experience. I think it was worth it 100%.
      I think the best lessons in life come from circumstances you don’t expect 🙂

  6. I’ve had quite a few experiences in interviews here in Japan where the experience was so bad that I was just like “I’m sorry, I’m not interested anymore” halfway through the interview. If you think about it, they’re wasting your time.

    • You can do that?
      Wow, I wish I had known. My third interview was with a translating company – from their flyer I gathered they worked with American and Japanese companies (instead they just translated websites).
      I still sat through the entire 20 minute (very awkward) interview.

      Do you have any other advice for job hunting foreigners?
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

